Skip to content

The Surprising Lessons This Personal Trainer Learned (Part 1 – Heroism)

October 27, 2014

Boy Superhero ConceptAs a child I wanted to fly.  Today I am a Director for Isagenix.  No, it isn’t quite the same as flying, but if you ever had dreams of achieving, of being more, of getting out of the “sensible reality” your adult advisors steered you toward when you were a child, Isagenix can bring you all the reward you, the Personal Trainer, would receive as a Super Hero!

Far fetched?  Of course, but sincere.  Anything outside the box of our conventional thinking seems far fetched.  It’s only when you test the waters beyond your present island that you find new possibility, and wow, do I have some possibility for you.

I’ll deliver this article in six parts, the last of which will share Seven Powerful Lessons I’ve Learned that allowed me to see and experience the true Isagenix opportunity.  Even if you haven’t the least bit of interest in finding what I’ll refer to later as “effortless prosperity” (a term I’ll address and clarity at some length), if you earn your living by helping others find physical betterment, you’ll find immense value in the information I’ll share.

There’s only one thing I’ll ask if you’re going to hang out with me for the duration of this article and the segments that follow.  Put your present reality to the side and just consider accessing what psychologists like to call “an open mind.”  Regardless of your personal desire you’ll benefit by entertaining both the novelty and the excitement of finding Super Hero Reward with Isagenix.

Before I go into my Super Hero metaphor, let me put two points on the table that align Isagenix with my personal growth (points I couldn’t make about competitive companies or products):

  1. The Isagenix product line integrates perfectly into my personal training career (only after the lessons I’ve learned which I’ll share with you shortly). As it complements my energies, I can promise you it offers the ideal complement to the programs you design, whether you train athletes, people seeking fat loss, or plain old average folks seeking betterment.  Coming from me, that’s a massive statement.  With the exception of the products I personally manufactured, I’ve never endorsed or believed in any nutritional supplement line with the passion and fervor I hold for Isagenix.
  1. The Isagenix opportunity really does offer personal trainers the elusive “passive income.” With the right preliminary steps, it becomes a legitimate profit center with income potential far exceeding the annual training revenues of the personal training elite.  Does it work by itself?  No, and of course those who expect magic out of the gate will fall short and strengthen their own limiting beliefs.  Does it require effort?  Of course, as does everything that generates reward, and the beauty of the compensation plan is, the front end effort creates residual income . . . I daresay for years and years and years and years, and then some.

Stop.  Take a moment.  Move any old aversions toward supplements or “opportunities” out of your line of thought.  I don’t ask for blind faith, I simply ask for an open mind.  When the mind is open, read on . . .

When I was four I wanted to be a superhero.  Really I did and the idea carried forward for years.  I devoured Superman, Justice League, Fantastic Four, and Incredible Hulk comic books looking forward to the day when I’d be able to hang out with Thor on Mount Olympus or soar over New York City while my childhood crush, Randi Hyman, would look up and wish she’d paid a little more attention to me in first grade.

I decided the power I would start with was flight.  I had a strategy.  I would jump as far upward and forward as I could, timing my trajectory.  I even recruited my friends Larry and Richie to coach me with a stopwatch.  The idea was, if every week I could stay suspended in the air a little longer, by the time I hit puberty I’d be leaping from rooftop to rooftop rescuing people from evil villains.

In fourth grade my teacher, Mrs. Entin, squashed my dream, or at least put a major dent in it.  She taught me about Newton’s Law of Universal Gravitation.

“An object in the Earth’s gravitational field experiences a force pulling it towards the centre of the Earth.”

That sucked.  It seemed Superman had some ability to defy gravity.  I didn’t.  So much for flight.  I’d opt for strength, and so it led me to a point in time where my Uncle Marty bought me my first weight set.  I was hooked.  Interestingly, I discovered something inside that went beyond building muscle.  The dream of being somehow superhuman existed in me but not without an important archetypal quality.  Deep down, I felt a burning desire to help people.  As I learned, I wanted to teach.  As I gained I wanted to share.

I know this speaks to you.  Whether or not you ever read about epic battles between Spiderman and The Green Goblin, you have that same deep lying desire.  You want to excel, but not for your own selfish benefit.  You want to excel so you’re recognized for your ability to help others, and you want to help others in a very big way.

When we take childhood dreams forward to adulthood, with enough introspection we can identify innate traits that formed and strengthened from those early fantasies.  Here’s what I recognize about myself:

I love to be rewarded for helping others.

That may be the most honest and crystallizing statement I could possibly make about my drive, my passion, and my heart.

I love to be rewarded for helping others.

As a Superhero I’d rescue the beautiful woman from the clutches of the deranged evil-doers.  As a personal trainer, not only would I rescue women and men alike from poor lifestyle choices, misinformation, and the villains who push drugs, surgeries, and absurdities as solutions, but I would find immense gratitude coming right back at me.

This begs a new question.  How does a Superhero get paid?

At first, as most personal trainers, I hated the idea of asking for money.  I operated under the flawed paradigm of, “if people want to train with me, they’ll pay me.”  It took lots of early financial struggles to realize, there’s a value to what I do, and until I find a belief and confidence in that value, nobody else will ever see it.

Every business strategy I ever developed stemmed from two foundational ideas:

  1. I will only prosper if every dollar I make comes from bettering the life of another
  2. It is my responsibility to establish extreme value and deliver more value than people expect

After seasons of financial struggle, that paradigm shift gave me power.  I started to earn, to grow, to prosper, and I never lost a night’s sleep.  I watched less scrupulous people make money at the expense of others and I took great pride in my moral compass and developed ability to find just reward.

So let’s isolate two key points I’ve laid out thus far, following with the assumption that in these few regards, you’re a lot like me.

  1. We want to excel . . . but only feel fulfilled if we legitimately help others
  1. We must establish our own value and find comfort in demanding as we deserve

Here’s where it gets tricky.  As we find fulfillment, as we begin to earn as we feel we deserve, and as we establish a position whereby our value is attached to our time, we face an inherent ceiling.  It’s human nature to seek growth, it’s noble to want to earn sufficient to raise a family, and it’s important to prepare for the future knowing that your ultimate financial status is reliant upon what you build.

What happens if you build nothing but a clientele reliant upon your time?  In the immediacy of the present day, you feel fulfilled, but where’s the safety, the security, the promise of a strong foundation for the next decade, and the decade beyond?

Most personal trainers live in that reality.  They are reliant upon their time for their income.

If you haven’t hit the sense of impending burnout yet, you will.  It’s the conflict between a desire for growth and the limitations of your time and energy.

Out of this comes the desire for residual income, for a long-term payoff, for our efforts to deliver extreme value and for that reward to flow our way with ever-growing power.

Isagenix offers that dream.  The question becomes, “can you help people, find reward, and feel fulfilled?”  and that answer is simple.  Yes.  “Will you do what it takes?” is another question completely.  Here’s my promise.  With the lessons I’ll share, with a commitment to value and growth, and with a modest effort that promises to build extreme momentum, you can find the future you deserve, no trickery, no cold calling, no pressure selling, just you being you . . .  feeding your own deep desires.

I’ll address the concerns, I’ll shed as much light as I can on the true opportunity, and then it’s up to you.  I’ll make myself available to speak to anyone interested and if I sense a true desire, I’ll invite you to come on board as a part of my team.  (feel free to email me to arrange a telephone appointment, phil@philkaplan.com)  On my “team,” we do things ethically, caringly, and with the clients’ best interest in mind, and in that we seek ongoing betterment.

Knowing there are 5 segments to follow, I’ll wrap this up with an important point.

If you want to grow you need to stretch. 

That’s it.  That’s the point.  For decades I’ve been helping trainers stretch, closing in on their dreams, opening their own studios, or trading employment for freedom.  This is simply a continuation of that process.

Interested?  Email me, or go forward and read the next segment, “7 Reasons You Need to Stretch.”  This has nothing to do with lengthening hamstrings or alleviating psoas tightness.  This type of stretching has everything to do with mindset.

Read, “The 7 Reasons You Need to Stretch” (to be posted October 28, 2014)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

