Skip to content

A Day Away!

July 25, 2011

Is There Anyone Else Out There Ready for the Challenge?

I’m not sure if I should start this with hmmmph or eeeeiowwww!  The first is the sound of utter frustration, the second the sound of utter frustration escalating into a scream.  I’ll just start with frustration.

Hmmmph!

On Tuesday (tomorrow) I’m starting my A.L.I.V.E. coach trainer training, an intensive 12-week curriculum that I’ve learned to deliver remote, interactively via the phone and web.  I had forty-one trainers express interest in the ALIVE Trainer Training.  Over the past few weeks I spoke to each and every one by telephone.  While they were all very nice, and sincere, and I enjoyed every conversation, I accepted only four.  Yes, 4 out of 41!

Why?  Well . . . my A.L.I.V.E. program is rolling with incredible momentum.  It’s the bridge between fitness and medicine.  It’s not only a life-altering intervention for most people who inhabit our country, but it’s a prestige builder, positioning monster, and an unprecedented profit machine.  OK, before I veer off into what might sound like hype . . . let me share some realities.

The only thing preventing me from rolling this program out nationally is human capital and that makes the growth thrilling but painfully slow.  I need trainers who are open to learning a new science, the science of “curing dis-ease” through exercise.  In order to maintain the integrity of the program, I want to personally train and know every trainer who is connected with it.  I’ve been extremely protective of the protocol and the program materials to avoid knock-offs and imitations.

A.L.I.V.E. is unprecedented in its power to establish personal trainers as legitimate partners in the Allied Health Care Team.

So why did I only accept four personal trainers?  I guess I set the bar high.  Here’s what I’m looking for:

  • A hunger for learning
  • A willingness to question convention
  • A willingness to invest in education (valued at $6,000, this pilot offering is only $640)
  • Experience in working with clients and an honest assessment of outcomes
  • A full time commitment to a fitness career
  • A confidence that allows a trainer to get past apprehension and have a peer-to-peer conversation with medical professionals
  • A bit of frustration with the present in knowing potential is so much greater
  • A passion, not only for working with athletes, but for helping a wide demographic including “unwell.”
  • A level of “readiness” in life and career

While all of the trainers I spoke to had many of these traits, only four had all, and I am not willing to compromise.

Here’s why.  Every week I’m in discussions with doctors.  Surgeons, functional medicine docs, endocrinologists, neurologists, cardiologists, and more.  The program is now backed by sound evidence and I’ve been invited to conduct it everywhere from Hawaii to New York, Cleveland to Mexico.

To date there are only twenty-one trainers authorized to conduct this program worldwide.  They include long-time members of my Be Better project who I’ve come know as family, my own personal training staff, and an elite core of trainers at the Merritt Athletic Clubs in Maryland, a regional chain in close proximity to Johns Hopkins allowing us massive opportunity for ongoing growth.

So . . . that’s why I started this with the now familiar hmmmph.  I’ve rejected infomercials and marketing companies making “roll-out” promises.  I want this to be a groundswell growing out of alliances between personal trainers and the medical field, and in every arena its been conducted, that’s precisely what’s happening.

The Profit opportunity?  The trainers conducting their own groups are comfortably charging between $1200 and $1800 per person per program, and I’ve been conducting groups with 12 people in each.  In addition, to date, 80% of geographically qualified A.L.I.V.E. clients continued on with personal training after the 8 weeks of the program.

So, this isn’t a pitch for you to come on board, unless you read this and really really feel that I’m talking to you, that you have the traits I’m looking for, that you’re ready to take on a new pursuit that serves as the evolution of your personal training career.

Here are a few more things you might want to know:

Last Tuesday night I conducted a seminar in Baltimore for 239 people.  We hoped for a 10% enrollment in A.L.I.V.E.  We had enough trainers to handle two groups of twelve people in the program launching today.  We sold out all twenty-four slots only 10 minutes into the break and we wound up taking 14 additional advance registrations.

The message is powerful, the program is sound, the potential is limitless.

I should also mention that Terry Dezzutti, the COO of the Merritt chain went through the program.  At the onset his inflammation markers, cholesterol numbers, and blood pressure were all in the high risk range.  In eight weeks Terry dropped 25 pounds of fat, but more impressively, his LDL dropped from 240 to 153, his C-Reactive Protein (a biomarker of inflammation and a key determinant in heart attack risk) dropped from 1.8 (anything over 1 is considered risk) to .4.  I can keep going but you get the picture.  In 8 weeks he went from “risk” to health, as verified by his doctor, and that’s been representative of virtually every unwell individual who has gone through the program.

Right now, I have A.L.I.V.E. coaches only in South Florida, Los Angeles, Colorado, Massachusetts, Hamilton, Ontario, Baltimore, and Philadelphia.  My intention five years from now is to have one participating hospital and one team of A.L.I.V.E. coaches in every state.  This is a wide open door . . . for the right Personal Trainers.

Here’s what I’m going to offer.  As you’re reading this, I’m likely on a plane to Maryland to conduct the first group session for the new A.L.I.V.E.  participants.

Tuesday, at 1 PM, I’m conducting my A.L.I.V.E. coach trainer training.  As I mentioned, there are presently only four trainers registered.  I’m going to invite you, if you feel this might be for you, to attend the first session for only $12.  If, after the first session, you feel this is for you, you’ll email me and we’ll set up a time to talk by phone.  If there is, in fact, a fit, and you’re all on-board, you’ll continue through the program.  Your $12 will be credited toward the registration.

Interested?  You can read more . . . or . . .

You can register to attend Tuesday’s session where I’ll discuss some of the shocking realities of heart disease, little known facts about blood pressure (and the hypertension epidemic), and reveal where the medical field has a gaping hole which we, concerned competent personal trainers, can fill.

Register now.  If I only have four trainers, that’s OK, but if there are a few more out there who will capitalize on this opportunity, I’d love to have you on board.

Register here: https://www.bebetteracademy.com/alivetrainertrainingfirstsession

Phil Kaplan

No comments yet

Leave a comment